fbpx

Willingness to pay: how to calculate it with your customers

What is the right price for a new product about to be launched? Or an existing service that you want to increase the price for a number of reasons?

The fact is that 88% of the time, the pricing process within a company is largely based on intuition rather than science. Define willingness to pay with your customers!

So, how do you ensure that your prices are set correctly? How do you know how much your customers are willing to pay for your product or service?

It takes more to succeed than you think. Creating a balanced strategy depends on a clear understanding of what affects willingness to pay. You also need to know how to calculate your willingness to pay in order to determine your optimal price and maximize your income.

What is willingness to pay?

Willingness to pay is the ideal amount a customer is willing to pay for your product or service. It varies depending on a number of factors, but it is one of the best ways to conceptualize overall demand at a given time.

Because of this variability, willingness to pay is usually expressed with a range of upper and lower limits. This delta is called the "acceptable price range".

Willingness to pay / accept

Willingness to pay is often confused with willingness to accept. It is the highest price at which a customer will be willing to buy.

Willingness to accept is the lowest price you can afford to sell your product or service.

In this article, don't panic, we are talking about your customers and how to determine their willingness to pay and optimize your pricing strategy.

5 factors that affect willingness to pay

1. The state of the economy

When the economy is doing well, it is likely to grow. A general recession or problems specific to your industry will cause it to decline. Consistent, you might say!

2. The trend and season of a product

The trend is difficult to monitor, but affects the willingness to pay significantly. What is in vogue is variable and specific to the market in which you work.

A trendy item will have a huge willingness to pay (WTP) while the opposite will be true for an outdated or obsolete item. Seasonality can also be considered for WTP evolution. During the holiday season, the WTP of "gift" products will be higher than in the classic period.

It is therefore essential to survey its market regularly to adjust its prices and strategy throughout the year.

3. Your brand image

Each customer has a different personal story that explains how he or she perceives the price. While it is impossible to consider each client's possible history, you can examine how different aspects of your industry directly impact the client and their perceived value of your offers. (CSR, positioning, communication...). Year-round promotions will devalue the overall willingness to pay, for example. Your brand image is one of the main components Pay attention to your brand image!

4. The rarity of a product

The rarer it is, the more precious it is. So far, nothing new. The same goes for willingness to pay. If your customers perceive the product or service you sell as rare, it will increase their willingness to pay.

While this can be used to your advantage, increasing the rarity of a product can make it inaccessible to some customers. Always survey your customers and prospects to ensure that you are not setting a price that is out of their purchasing range. Pay attention to your positioning!

5. The quality of a product

Consumer perception of quality has a direct impact on WTP, in the same way that scarcity has a direct impact on WTP. The higher the quality, the higher the willingness to pay.

Example between Disney Video and Netflix on a base of 8,412 respondents.

How to find the ideal price?

Already, it is important to know that the 'ideal' price does not exist, or at least, it is constantly changing. To optimize your sales, you must constantly survey your market to adapt the price of your products or services according to multiple variables: economy, trend, perceived value of the customer...

So, how do we collect this data?

1. Know your personas

Customers with more regular use of the product or service will have a different willingness to pay. Segmenting your willingness-to-pay data according to this style of factors is critical. It provides you with an excellent way to create prices tailored to your target audience and, most importantly, to develop a clearer and more personalized pricing strategy. Knowing the perceived value of your product through your customers is a major asset in refining your marketing - pricing strategies.

2. Market data

Whether you are new to the industry or an established brand, the market has a direct impact on willingness to pay. Find out how your competitors rate their products and you can create an excellent baseline for finding your own WTP.

Competitive research is the basis for starting your pricing strategy. However, it is the least relevant because you are different from your competitors and the perceived value of your products or services from your customers will be different from your competitors. The same goes for willingness to pay...

3. Client Surveys / Hearings

Surveys are the best tool you have to find out what your consumers are thinking and thus assess their willingness to pay. Having direct feedback from your customers, on a future product for example, is an ultra powerful piece of information. Creating 2.0 surveys, simple and engaging for your prospects and customers, allows you to collect the data that will be the basis of the success of your marketing and price strategies.

For example, you can use klack gaming surveys, perfect for determining the willingness to pay of your current or future customers and refine your pricing strategy.

Example of companies and their willingness to pay

Here are two examples of how Amazon and Spotify have refined their pricing strategy through consumer willingness to pay surveys.

Spotify

Spotify's standard plan is $9.99 per month, which is perfectly in line with the overall willingness to pay of the 7,458 respondents:

Overall willingness to pay - Spotify

What's interesting is the size of a range. Based on our data, Spotify customers are willing to pay between $5 and $15 for their monthly subscription. This indicates that it is possible to differentiate with some additional price points. Which Spotify has done with its family plan.

Willingness to pay for various features of Spotify.

Using this willingness-to-pay data, it seems that Spotify could certainly increase the overall subscription price by $3 without any problem.

By surveying users on their willingness to pay, Spotify found that it could, for example, significantly increase its prices for its family plan.

Amazon Prime

For Amazon, we have found bases based on different customer segments. In surveying 11,089 bonus customers, we found that age and annual salary were two of the main factors impacting willingness to pay.

Willingness to pay for different age groups of Amazon Prime customers.

In 2014, the price of amazon Prime was $7.99 per month. This price has evolved to $9.99 and then to $12.99. This increases the annual price from $95.88 to $119.88 and then to $155.88. This first jump put Amazon in an excellent position to capitalize on each age group as shown in the chart.

The second increase has actually placed them above average by age. It is nevertheless an excellent strategic choice combined with the study of the willingness to pay based on the annual income of its audience.

Amazon is about right on target with the $100,000 to $150,000 annual salary range. This indicates they are going more upscale with their positioning to capitalize on the increased willingness to pay. One study is not enough, they need to diversify to understand the overall issues.

Klack: collaborative surveys to determine the willingness to pay of your current and future customers.

Whether for products or services, Klack gives you the ability to create specialized surveys on your customers' willingness to pay. By surveying your market, you'll know who is most likely to buy your product or service and what price to set to maximize your sales and revenue. Just as Amazon or Spotify have done by surveying their customers, do the same to avoid getting it wrong and get maximum value from your product or service. Making decisions based on your customers & audience will ensure that you meet their expectations and keep them coming back.

Conclusion

Knowing what your customers are willing to pay for your product is necessary to build an effective and competitive pricing strategy. Without this information, you are just guessing.

With Klack's help, you can find and validate your own WTP. Contact a free price audit today!

Willingness to pay: how to calculate it with your customers

Subscribe to our
weekly newsletter

specially created for you, marketing experts,
sales and business intelligenceexperts.

News - Blog - Klack News - Events

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Recent Articles

Consumers

To anticipate market trends it is necessary to monitor consumer behaviour.

Survey
Consumers

Understanding the aspects of a market requires an accurate survey. It is essential to make the right decisions.

fbpx

Volonté de payer : définition et comment la calculer grâce à vos clients

Quel est le juste prix pour un nouveau produit sur le point d’être lancé ? Ou un service existant dont on veut augmenter le prix pour un certain nombre de raisons ? Le fait est que dans 88% des cas, le processus de fixation des prix au sein d’une entreprise est largement basé sur l’intuition plutôt que sur la science. Définissez la volonté de payer grâce à vos clients !

Alors, comment vous assurez que vos prix sont correctement fixés ? Comment savoir combien vos clients sont prêts à payer pour votre produit ou service ?

Il en faut plus pour réussir que vous ne le pensez. La création d’une stratégie équilibrée dépend d’une compréhension claire de ce qui affecte la volonté de payer. Il faut également savoir calculer cette volonté pour définir votre prix optimal et maximiser vos revenus.

Qu’est-ce que la volonté de payer ?

La volonté de payer est le montant idéal qu’un client est prêt à payer pour votre produit ou service. Il varie en fonction d’un certain nombre de facteurs mais il est l’un des meilleurs moyens de conceptualiser la demande globale à un moment donné.

En raison de cette variabilité, la volonté de payer est généralement exprimée avec une plage de limites supérieure et inférieure. On appelle ce delta la “tranche acceptable de prix”.

La volonté de payer / d’accepter

La volonté de payer est souvent confondue avec la volonté d’accepter. La volonté de payer est le prix le plus élevé auquel un client sera prêt à acheter. La volonté d’accepter est, elle, le prix le plus bas auquel vous pouvez vous permettre de vendre votre produit ou service. Dans cet article, pas de panique, on parle bien de vos clients et de la façon de déterminer leur volonté de payer et d’optimiser votre stratégie de fixation de prix.

5 facteurs qui affectent la volonté de payer

1. L’état de l’économie

Lorsque l’économie se porte bien, elle est susceptible d’augmenter. Une récession générale ou des problèmes spécifiques à votre industrie entraîneront une baisse de celle-ci. Cohérent me direz-vous !

2. La tendance et la saison d’un produit

La tendance est difficile à surveiller mais affecte considérablement le montant de la volonté de payer. Ce qui est à la mode est variable et spécifique au marché dans lequel vous travaillez.

Un article tendance aura une volonté de payer (VDP) énorme alors que ce sera l’inverse pour un article dépassé ou obsolète. On peut également parler de saisonnalité pour l’évolution de la VDP. En période de fêtes, la VDP des produits “cadeaux” sera plus haute qu’en période classique.

Il est donc primordial de sonder son marché régulièrement pour ajustez ses prix et sa stratégie tout au long de l’année.

3. Votre image de marque

Chaque client a une histoire personnelle différente qui explique comment il perçoit le prix. Bien qu’il soit impossible de tenir compte des antécédents possibles de chaque client, vous pouvez examiner comment les différents aspects de votre industrie ont un impact direct sur le client et sa valeur perçue de vos offres. (RSE, positionnement, communication…). Des promotions toute l’année dévaloriseront le montant global de la volonté de payer par exemple. Votre image de marque est une des principales composante Faîtes attention à votre image de marque !

4. La rareté d’un produit

Plus c’est rare, plus c’est précieux. Jusqu’ici, rien de nouveau. Il en va de même pour la volonté de payer. Si vos clients perçoivent le produit ou le service que vous vendez comme rare, cela augmentera leur volonté de payer.

Bien que cela puisse être utilisé à votre avantage, augmenter la rareté d’un produit peut le rendre inaccessible à certains clients. Sondez toujours vos clients et vos prospects pour vous assurer que vous ne fixez pas un prix hors de leur portée d’achat. Soyez attentif à votre positionnement !

5. La qualité d’un produit

La perception de la qualité par les consommateurs a un impact direct sur la VDP, de la même manière que la rareté. Plus la qualité est élevée, plus la volonté de payer est élevée.

Exemple entre Disney vidéo et Netflix sur une base de 8 412 répondants.

Comment trouver le prix idéal ?

Déjà, il faut savoir que le prix “idéal’ n’existe pas ou du moins, il évolue sans cesse. Pour optimiser vos ventes, il faut constamment sonder votre marché pour adapter le prix de vos produits ou service en fonction de multiples variables : économie, tendance, valeur perçue du client…

Alors, comment collecter ces données ?

1. Connaître ses personas

Les clients ayant une utilisation du produit ou du service plus régulière auront une volonté de payer différente. La segmentation de vos données sur la volonté de payer en fonction de ce style de facteurs est primordiale. Elle vous offre un excellent moyen de créer des prix adapté en fonction de votre cible et surtout d’élaborer une stratégie de prix plus claire et personnalisée. Connaître la valeur perçue de son produit à travers ses clients est un atout majeur dans l’affinage de vos stratégies marketing – prix.

2. Données du marché

Que vous soyez nouveau dans l’industrie ou une marque établie, le marché a un impact direct sur la volonté de payer. Recherchez comment vos concurrents évaluent leurs produits et vous pouvez créer une excellente base de référence pour trouver votre propre VDP.

L’étude concurrentielle, c’est une base pour entamer votre stratégie de fixation de prix. C’est néanmoins la moins pertinente car vous êtes différent de vos concurrents et la valeur perçue de vos produits ou services de la part de vos clients sera différente de celle de vos concurrent. Il en va donc de même pour la volonté de payer…

3. Enquêtes auprès des clients / audiences

Les enquêtes sont le meilleur outil dont vous disposez pour découvrir ce que vos consommateurs pense et donc évaluer leur volonté de payer. Avoir un retour direct de ses clients, sur un futur produit par exemple, est une information ultra puissante. Créer des enquêtes 2.0, simples et engageantes pour vos prospects et clients, permet de récolter les données qui seront la base de la réussite de vos stratégies marketing-prix.

Vous pouvez par exemple utiliser les enquêtes gamifiées klack, parfaites pour déterminer la volonté de payer de vos actuels ou futurs clients et affiner votre stratégie de fixation de prix.

Exemple d’entreprises et de leur volonté de payer

Voici deux exemples montrant comment Amazon et Spotify ont affiner leur stratégie de fixation de prix grâce à des enquêtes consommateurs sur la volonté de payer.

Spotify

Le plan standard de Spotify est de 9,99 $ par mois, ce qui correspond parfaitement à la volonté de payer globale des 7 458 personnes interrogées:

Volonté de payer globale – Spotify

Ce qui est intéressant, c’est la taille d’une gamme. Sur la base de nos données, les clients Spotify sont prêts à payer entre 5 $ et 15 $ pour leur abonnement mensuel. Cela indique qu’il est possible de se différencier avec certains niveaux de prix supplémentaires, ce que Spotify a fait avec son plan familial.

Volonté de payer pour différentes fonctionnalités de Spotify.

En utilisant ces données de volonté de payer, il semble que Spotify pourrait certainement augmenter le prix global de l’abonnement de 3 $ sans problème.

En sondant les utilisateurs sur leur volonté de payer, Spotify à trouvé qu’il pourrait, par exemple, augmenter considérablement ses prix pour son plan familial.

Amazon Prime

Pour Amazon, nous avons trouvé des basées sur différents segments de clientèle. En interrogeant 11 089 clients Prime, nous avons constaté que l’âge et le salaire annuel étaient deux des principaux facteurs ayant un impact sur la volonté de payer.

Volonté de payer pour différentes tranches d’âge des clients Amazon Prime.

En 2014, le prix d’amazon Prime était de 7,99 $ par mois. Ce prix à évolué et est passé à 9,99 $, puis à 12,99 $. Cela fait passer le prix annuel de 95,88 $ à 119,88 $, puis 155,88 $. Ce premier saut a placé Amazon dans une excellente position pour capitaliser sur chaque tranche d’âge comme le montre le graphique.

La deuxième augmentation les a, en réalité placé au dessus de la moyenne en fonction de l’âge. C’est néanmoins un excellent choix stratégique combiné à l’étude de la volonté de payer en fonction des revenus annuels de son audience.

Amazon est à peu près à la hauteur avec la tranche de salaire annuelle de 100 000 $ à 150 000 $, ce qui nous indique qu’ils vont plus haut de gamme avec leur positionnement pour capitaliser sur l’augmentation de la volonté de payer. Une seule étude ne suffit pas, il faut les diversifier pour comprendre les enjeux globaux.

Klack.io : des enquêtes collaboratives pour déterminer la volonté de payer de vos actuels et futurs clients.

Que ce soit pour des produits ou des services, Klack.io vous donne la possibilité de créer des enquêtes spécialisées sur la volonté de payer de vos clients. En sondant votre marché, vous savez qui est le plus susceptible d’acheter votre produit ou service et quel prix faut-il fixer pour optimiser vos ventes et vos revenus. Comme l’ont fait Amazon ou Spotify en sondant leurs clients, faîtes de même pour ne pas vous tromper et tirer un maximum de valeur de votre produit ou service. Prendre des décisions en fonctions de vos clients & audience, c’est être sur de combler leurs attentes et les fidéliser.

Conclusion

Savoir ce que vos clients sont prêts à payer pour votre produit ou service est nécessaire pour construire une stratégie de prix efficace et compétitive. Sans ces informations, vous devinez simplement.

Avec l’aide de Klack, vous pouvez trouver et valider votre propre WTP. Contactez un audit de prix gratuit dès aujourd’hui!

Volonté de payer : définition et comment la calculer grâce à vos clients

Inscrivez-vous à notre
newsletter hebdomadaire

spécialement créée pour vous, experts du marketing,
de la vente et de la business intelligence.

Actualités - Blog - Nouveautés Klack - Événéments

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email

Articles récents

pricer
Actualités

En temps de crise, la santé et la sécurité sont la priorité, un pricer doit élaborer une stratégie qui protège les flux et les revenus.

Actualités

Une tarification trop élevée est un frein à la décision d’achat. Ce problème peut être résolu facilement en optimisant le prix.